Sunday Morning Baking

This morning I did some baking inspired by my daughter. She had seen something on the telly where they made strawberry shortcake and wanted to eat some herself. This isn’t something I had made before but knew I had some strawberries in the freezer and a can of squirty cream in the fridge ready for pancake day!

I found a recipe online and made a few little tweaks to it. It made a very wet dough but I didn’t add any more flour as I didn’t want to ruin the texture. I put plenty of flour on the worktop and rolling pin and rolled out ready to cut. I decided to use heart shaped cutters because it’s Valentine’s Day so why not!?

I carefully lifted the heart shaped shortcakes onto baking trays, sprinkled a little milk and sugar on them and baked for 15 minutes until risen and golden. The recipe made quite a lot so I have wrapped some up and frozen them ready for a treat another day.

For the strawberries, I got some out early this morning and defrosted them. I then cut into quarters and mixed in a table spoon of sugar and set aside.

When it was time to assemble the shortcakes I cut them in half and laced a large spoonful of strawberries on the bottom half. I then squirted on the cream and placed the top half of shortcake on top.

These were a great after lunch treat and very light. The strawberries were the perfect addition the the fluffy shortcakes.

For another fun bake I made some spinach and cheese muffins with my daughter. These were from one of her recipe books. They were supposed to be decorated to look like faces so we gave it a good attempt! The muffins were really tasty and full of flavour. Another great lunchtime food.

Hope you had a great Sunday
Katie

Leave a comment